Confessions of a Lib Tech Student

Alright, I admit it, I am not a good student. I mean, I’m not horrible, I do get decent grades. But I feel like I am just “not applying myself” as well as I should.

Like a few of my peers, I am a “mature” student. I am going into this field as a person full of life experiences. So, why can’t I just be a trooper and memorize those Marc  codes and find those subject headings in DDC just like the power point presentation said I should?

The reason, I think, is just that it’s TOO MUCH INFORMATION! (Sorry, I yelled). But, seriously, it is, TMI in such a short span of time. In able to learn something, I need time to digest the information. That is difficult to do in a span of less than 3 months. That’s like dining and dashing. It just isn’t good practice.I’m not saying that the program should be longer, because two years is plenty for me. But it is a fact, that many do need to do this program longer than the allotted 2 years because it’s just too heavy. This is, especially, if you need to take all the courses (some do not because they have transferable courses from previous studies, or a BA).

So, thankfully, just one more semester for me. I’ve just finished a  relentless one, and I’m not sure if I can take much more punishment. I do look forward to the end with great zeal … but for now, to the store I go for a Christmas tree.

About Liza

Liza Capdecoume is a Library + Information Tech at a K-12 school in Vancouver. She enjoys making good use her skills as a graphic designer at her various library related involvements. She is the Marketing and Design Coordinator for LTAS, and the Art Director for YAACing magazine. She has been contributing to this blog since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Confessions of a Lib Tech Student

  1. philfeedback says:

    I feel your pain. I may be the most mature student in the program (as in age, not actual maturity) and I found it helps to extend courses such as MARC and Classification to two semesters rather than a mere one semester. The first time around is kind of a touristy “look-see”. The second time around shear fear takes over as your mantra becomes “surely I am not THIS dumb”. Barring disaster this is my final semester and I find it helps to keep in mind the woman who finally passed her driver license test the 160th time she took it.

    • ellecie2003 says:

      Thank you for the empathy. That is too funny — I have thought, “surely I am not THIS dumb.” I’m not sure if i can be as persistent and optimistic as that lady — 160 times ?!!

  2. Christina Neigel says:

    Speaking as someone who was a student, teaches students, and is thinking of becoming one again….IT NEVER ENDS. Daily, I wade and wade through information, rarely taking a break. It is an exhausting, yet strangely stimulating experience. Some days I feel like running from it all but most of the time I just have “full brain”. So, if you think school means taking a break from information, it probably won’t really happen…..

    • ellecie2003 says:

      For all my whining … I really am enjoying it. I haven’t been a student in a while, so I really am not used to it. Like you said, it feels like “full brain” — like there is no more space for one more piece of information. It’s funny, though, that the busier I get with one thing, the more I need to do more.

  3. fhtess says:

    I hear you…I remember doing 2328 at Langara and working FT…it was a rough term and I felt the same way – just couldn’t absorb all that info all at once…somehow I managed to get through it, though 🙂 I too have just one term to go…the really strange thing is, I know that even though I’m thrilled to be graduating soon, I’m also going to miss at least some of the work!!

    • ellecie2003 says:

      Yes, it will be very strange not to have homework to worry about when it’s all over. I’m already thinking I want to maybe keep taking classes (one at a time) when I finish the program.

  4. If I can add one more perspective: I started the program at SAIT in 2001. I was 20 years old and had virtually no “real-world” experience. I loved and thrived in the program, and to be honest I found it pretty easy.

    But I have to wonder if I went back and did it now, after the 8 years of career experience (and of course, general life experience) I’ve subsequently had, what would I make of the program, the workload, etc? I think when you say “I am going into this as a person full of life experiences” that explains a lot of it. When you are taught something in college as a fresh-faced young person, you have a fairly small capacity to think critically about that new thing or concept. If I took a class on Reference Services or Business Communications today, I would have so much experience to draw from. I wouldn’t just be blindly imagining a scenario, I would have actual, personal examples to reflect on. This can be a boon (it makes the learning experience much more meaningful and engaging) or a bane (it’s hard to just slide on through a course when you’re taking each thing you’re taught with a grain of salt).

    Anyway, all that is to say, it may be difficult right now, but your life’s experiences combined with your new library skills are going to serve you so well when you re-enter the working world as a library tech. Try to keep that in mind. I worked in law firm libraries for several years, and inevitably, it was the law students who had had a career prior to going to law school that could think the most critically and creatively.

    Like Christina says, information is everywhere and if you want to be good at your job, you recognize that it’s an essential part of your own professional development after school ends. But the nice thing is that you will develop (if you haven’t already) personal streams of interest, and the reading and learning you do will probably become much more exciting and pleasurable.

    Hang in there. It *is* a lot to process in such a relatively short time. To be honest, you’ll probably never use 3/4 of what you were taught because you’ll get a job that doesn’t require certain skills. You’ve come this far – you’re so close to finishing, and that’s something to really be proud of!

  5. Mary says:

    I found 2 years plenty long. It almost wasn’t so much what we were learning as the there being so many assignments to do, and on top of the quantity, the time it took to do them was crazy long. But perhaps it’s like that for every program out there.I imagine so. Welcome to college/university!

Leave a Reply

