LTAS Member Spotlight: Stephen Karr

I’m pleased to introduce you to Stephen Karr, a cataloguer with Library Bound and co-chair of the LTAS Vancouver chapter.

Where are you currently working?

Library Bound Inc.

Can you tell us a bit about this positionprofile1

I’m a cataloguer. I catalogue print items that are destined for public library systems that are our clients. We can go through some really busy periods which can make things very challenging. Everything has some priority. I focus on a combination of what is a rush, what can be done most quickly, and what has the most copies connected to a single record. I love seeing what’s new, what libraries are ordering these days.

How did you become interested in being a Library Technician?

I’ve always loved books, and I’ve always loved doing research. It took me a long time to figure out what I wanted to do. After several false paths taken, through career counselling I finally was honest with what is the best fit for me in terms of my interests and aptitude.

Education history

In addition to my Dip. Lib Tech. from Langara, in the 1990s I received a BA in Psychology from University of Victoria.

What about outside of work? What are your hobbies/interests?

I love the outdoors. I try to go for one hike a weekend. Reading is another passion of mine.

Any advice for new technicians or people interested in the field?

If you’re considering enter the field, I would say go for it. I have no regrets. That said, the job you end up with may not necessarily be the job that you envisioned going in.

To new technicians, I would say be open to anything, unless you already have your ideal job lined up. Look at it as an adventure. My experience is that the job market can be tough, so be open-minded. I would also say it helps to get your name out there. I’ve volunteered with LTAS for 6 years. I have also in the past volunteered as a convener as BCLA conferences. If you are at a conference, make sure you hit the trade show. That’s where I made the connection that resulted in my current job. Those have all been great ways for me to make connections in the library community. Also, I would suggest following job postings. We now have an excellent Job Postings Coordinator whose alerts are posted on the LTAS list.


 

Is there anyone you want to nominate to be showcased in our Member Spotlight? Maybe yourself? Please fill out this form, and you could be next month’s member spotlight!

3 thoughts on “LTAS Member Spotlight: Stephen Karr

  1. Aw, thanks for the career alerts plug!

    Thanks for all your hard work with LTAS over the years. We would not have gotten this far without your passion for libraries and technicians.

Leave a Reply

