LTAS Member Spotlight: Linda Jones

In the months leading up to the annual BC Library Conference (May 2016) the member spotlight will showcase several library technicians/assistants who are presenting in a panel looking at the current state of the profession and its future.

Introducing Linda!

Can you tell us a bit about your position

I’m a youth services technician at the main branch of Surrey Libraries. I started the Family Lego programs, now a SL fundraiser by asking patrons for donated bricks in the old Whalley library. I do a 45 minute program every week for people with different abilities and caregivers, if they have them with stories, music – I play the ukulele. Attendance is between 20 – 80 people. I lead a weekly PJ storytime and a pre-teen book club and a school age book club. I do as much as I can to make sure my programs are welcoming to all, and that the library is a friendly, helpful place.

How did you become interested in being a Library Technician?

I thought I wanted to be a librarian, but I didn’t have the money or the time. I love libraries and books. I’ve been a big reader since I learned to read.

Education history

I went to Langara to get the diploma and 6 years ago I got an undergraduate degree at SFU while working full time.

What about outside of work? What are your hobbies/interests?

I’m the chairperson of the Court Challenges Program of Canada. We fund court cases dealing with language and equality rights of national importance. I’ve just finished my first documentary film and I working on my next one. I love riding my bike.

Any advice for new technicians or people interested in the field?

Ask questions. Follow someone in their job.

 


Is there anyone you want to nominate to be showcased in our Member Spotlight? Maybe yourself? Please fill out this form, and you could be next month’s member spotlight!

 

About Ashley_Edwards

is a Library Assistant at a university in the Lower Mainland. She graduated from UFV in 2009 with the Lib Tech diploma, and in 2014 with a BA in Adult Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

